IPFire status graph not displayed

General questions.
Huike
Posts: 4
Joined: August 25th, 2012, 9:46 am

IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by Huike » October 3rd, 2014, 9:35 am

New installation ipfire 2.15 u83 on Alix 2d3 board. The status graph not displayed, error message: The image "https://192.168.0.2:444/cgi-bin/system.cgi?cpu?day" cannot be display because it contains errors".

The System, Memory, media, networks, entropy, qos are not displayed, the Services, hardware, connections, net-traffic are displayed.

Tried to delete /var/log/rrd *.rrd files but didn't fix it. Any ideas? Cheers

nazmul.karim
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2014, 4:37 pm

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by nazmul.karim » October 24th, 2014, 7:01 pm

I am also facing the same issue. No graph at all, after fresh install of core update 85.

BeBiMa
Posts: 2842
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by BeBiMa » October 24th, 2014, 8:20 pm

To investigate this issue you can try to do as follows using a shell:
save your graphs.pl

Code: Select all

cp /var/ipfire/graphs.pl /var/ipfire/graphs.pl.act

unpack the attached file

Code: Select all

tar zf graphs_pl.tgz -C /


Now the errors that occur in graphics generation are logged to /var/log/messages. This can help to catch the reason.

For restore just type

Code: Select all

cp /var/ipfire/graphs.pl.act /var/ipfire/graphs.pl


-Bernhard
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

nazmul.karim
Posts: 5
Joined: October 23rd, 2014, 4:37 pm

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by nazmul.karim » October 26th, 2014, 8:32 am

Graph is displaying now, since powered on today. Not sure how !

clubbavich
Posts: 2
Joined: August 26th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by clubbavich » December 28th, 2014, 12:34 am

I am now experiencing this issue. I cannot get any of the graphs to display. The link for the "attached file" seems to be missing that BeBiMa posted.

Brommer
Posts: 24
Joined: December 28th, 2014, 1:52 am
Location: Land of Oz

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by Brommer » January 4th, 2015, 5:33 am

Yep i'm having same issue (for me under "status" > "services" & scroll down; note that ALL the other graphs work fine).

and yes no file attached !

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 14th, 2015, 7:44 am

Hi,

My IPFire graphs are not updated and not displayed anymore after last reboot. Changes performed during last reboot: WAN connection changed from PPoE to DHCP (ISP provider changed, new method to connect to Internet - now I have a device from ISP that provides DHCP to the equipment).

My initial analysis shows this:
1. /var/log/rrd/ folder contains files that are not updated since last reboot (yesterday at 20:20). Basically, after last reboot, noting gets updated in rrd folder
1.1. I saw another rrd folder: /var/log/rrd.bak/. Here the situation is the same: files last updated at last reboot. Nothing newer than last reboot
2. All graphs are not displayed.

Load Graph: (Status Information Menu)
2015-08-14 10_34_01-Load - Status information.jpg


CPU load (Status Information Menu)
2015-08-14 10_33_48-CPU - Status information.jpg


SDA Temperature (Hardware Graphs)
2015-08-14 10_32_13-SDA- HDD Graphs.jpg


CPU Temperature (Hardware Graphs)
2015-08-14 10_33_03-HWTEMP - Graphs.jpg




Any idea how to fix this?

Thank you,
H&M

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 8522
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by Arne.F » August 14th, 2015, 8:30 am

Often this occours if the system was not online at boot to get the time via ntp and the rtc battery is missing or weak.

collectd will refuse to start if the date is to far in the past. So check the date/clock and try to restart the collectd deamon.
Arne

Support the project on the donation!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 14th, 2015, 10:26 am

Hi Arne,

It seems that collectd started but encounter some problems with the destination files.
If I get this right, none of the destination files can be used by collectd.

See log:

Code: Select all

Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-PSCAN/ipt_bytes-DROP_PScan.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-PSCAN/ipt_bytes-DROP_PScan.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-PSCAN/ipt_packets-DROP_PScan.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-PSCAN/ipt_packets-DROP_PScan.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-NEWNOTSYN/ipt_bytes-DROP_NEWNOTSYN.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-NEWNOTSYN/ipt_bytes-DROP_NEWNOTSYN.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-NEWNOTSYN/ipt_packets-DROP_NEWNOTSYN.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-NEWNOTSYN/ipt_packets-DROP_NEWNOTSYN.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-POLICYFWD/ipt_packets-DROP_FORWARD.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-POLICYFWD/ipt_packets-DROP_FORWARD.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-POLICYIN/ipt_packets-DROP_INPUT.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/iptables-filter-POLICYIN/ipt_packets-DROP_INPUT.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/sensors-k10temp-pci-00c3/temperature-temp1.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/sensors-k10temp-pci-00c3/temperature-temp1.rrd' is not an RRD file
Aug 14 13:22:51 dmx collectd[6681]: rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/memory/memory-buffered.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/memory/memory-buffered.rrd' is not an RRD file

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 8522
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by Arne.F » August 14th, 2015, 10:28 am

looks like the rrd's are corrupted. Is there enough diskspace on the ramdisk?
Arne

Support the project on the donation!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 14th, 2015, 10:40 am

Arne.F wrote:looks like the rrd's are corrupted. Is there enough diskspace on the ramdisk?


Yes, it is more than 60% free:

df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 2.0G 789M 1.1G 42% /
/dev/sda1 64M 36M 26M 59% /boot
/dev/sda4 12G 2.5G 8.8G 23% /var
none 64M 25M 40M 39% /var/log/rrd
none 8.0M 4.0K 8.0M 1% /var/lock

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 17th, 2015, 12:14 pm

Hi,

I've erased all content from /var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/ and almost all graphs started again.

I still have problems with SMART graphs and some SDA/SDB temperature graphs.
SDA does have a thermal sensor (is an SSD) but SDB has none (is an SD card).

Late edit:
RRD files from /var/log/rrd are corrupted:
hddshutdown-sda.rrd
hddshutdown-sdb.rrd
hddtemp-sda.rrd
hddtemp-sdb.rrd


If I erase them, these files are not created back.
How can I fix them - these files contains strange characters and the header is no longer "RRD0003/"
Any ideas how to create above files?


Thank you all for your support,
H&M

Madro
Posts: 79
Joined: October 11th, 2009, 1:25 pm

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by Madro » August 19th, 2015, 7:06 am

i had asimilar problem...after the new update...the cron daemon wasn't running

/etc/init.d/fcron restart
Stopping fcron... Not running. [ WARN ]
Starting fcron... [ OK ]

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 19th, 2015, 9:37 am

Madro wrote:i had asimilar problem...after the new update...the cron daemon wasn't running


Hi Madro,

I've checked fcron - it was started. I also performed a restart - is started OK.
Any other ideas?

I still have problems with Status ->Hardware Graphs -> SDA Graph (it is temperature graph for SSD disk). As far I can tell, this graphs checks the file /var/log/rrd/hddtemp-sda.rrd. I've copied an older file (from a backup installation - same HW box has dual boot) and the SDA temperature graph is displayed in interface, but no temperature is displayed (no historical, no current, no nothing).
It looks like the temperature for SSD is not collected at all...

Thank you,
H&M

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

[SOLVED] IPFire status graph not displayed

Post by H&M » August 19th, 2015, 11:01 am

Hi,

Here is the solution that worked for me - to repair the graphs.

Problem description: none of the IPFire graphs were displayed after a reboot & changing the RED connection (from PPoE to DHCP).
Root cause: files in /var/log/rrd were crashed - header did not contained RRD0003. Also, in /var/log/messages I got literally tones of messages from collectd that files in /var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost are not RRD files

Code: Select all

rrdtool plugin: rrd_update_r (/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/sensors-k10temp-pci-00c3/temperature-temp1.rrd) failed: '/var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost/sensors-k10temp-pci-00c3/temperature-temp1.rrd' is not an RRD file


The solution is split per type of graphs and folders that are used by these graphs..

Step 1.
Most of the graphs (System Status (CPU, LOAD), Memory, System Services (the Processes graphs), Entropy, etc) depend on /var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost. Basically all graphs except the ones for Media and HW Graphs depend on this folder.
By removing everything inside /var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost most of the graphs restared.
The folders located in /var/log/rrd/collectd/localhost are recreated when collectd is restarted: /etc/init.d/collectd restart

Step 2.1.

Graphs from Status -> Hardware Graphs -> SDA/SDB... temperature graphs and Graphs from Status -> Media

It seems that above graphs depend on files located in /var/log/rrd (and /var/log/rrd.bak - but see notice at bellow at the post)

Code: Select all

-rw-r--r--  1 root root  28K Aug 19 13:30 hddshutdown-sda.rrd
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  28K Aug 19 13:30 hddshutdown-sdb.rrd
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  28K Aug 19 13:30 hddtemp-sda.rrd
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  28K Aug  9  2014 hddtemp-sdb.rrd


For these files I did not found a way to recreate them. If somebody knows how, please let me know.
Above files were broken (din not had the RRD0003 header) so I had to replace them with similar files from another IPFire instance.
As soon as I replaced them the temperatuse graphs were displayed but temperature was not updated in the graphs

Step 2.2.
In order to fix the temperature graphs - to get updated, I've discovered that folder /var/log/rrd/cron need to be checked for corrupted RRD files (look at the header of the file).
As Madro already suggested, please check that fcron is started. /etc/init.d/fcron status
In my case was stared, but was unable to update in the files from /var/log/rrd/cron and /var/log/rrd.bak/cron. How to check if these files are ok: the date of the files should be from today. In my case all files were 4 days old - the moment when I've restarted the box and graphs crashed.
Again, I did not found a way to recreate these files so I've copied the files from another system and after that restarted fcron with command /etc/init.d/fcron restart.

After 5 minutes the temperature graph for SDA started to get updated.


Now I have all graphs back again.

Note: I've noticed that /var/log/rrd.bak/*.rrd gets a copy of the files from /var/log/rrd/*.rrd at each collectd restart. I am unable to tell if same mechanism is applied for all folders inside /var/log/rrd.bak.

Post Reply