Update 109 process

General questions.
Post Reply
Cobra
Posts: 94
Joined: December 18th, 2015, 10:57 am
Contact:

Update 109 process

Post by Cobra » February 18th, 2017, 11:05 am

In the past I noted that the update from a release to another is step-by-step.
If I'm not wrong, then the upgrade process from my release 105 to 109 is instead from 105 to 106, then 106-107, 107-108, 108-109.
But just with the release 106 there are problems with the DNS and then everything will stop.
Before launching Pakfire I would be sure not to find myself stuck halfway through the process and having to re-install everything from ISO.
Thanks in advance for your help

Where I'm working
What I'm doing

IPFire @Lab (VM)
Image

IPFire @GP
Image

Alorotom
Posts: 429
Joined: March 30th, 2015, 6:56 am

Re: Update 109 process

Post by Alorotom » February 18th, 2017, 11:31 am

Hello Cobra,
as far as i noticed, it is not step by step but maybe 105 to 109 direct.
For your process: perform a backup from Core 105 installation. Download ISO-Images before starting the update process (Core 105 as well as Core 109), try to update by Pakfire and in case it fails, install with ISO-Image and restore from made backup.
Since your DNS trouble seems to arise from modified DNS request by your ISP as we have narrowed down in earlier threads you'll face the same problem with Core 109. Or you are using workarounds for unbound as provided in the forum by several users.
Regards,
Alorotom
Image
Image

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Update 109 process

Post by H&M » February 18th, 2017, 1:19 pm

Hi,

It seems that core 109 is not found by my machine:

Code: Select all

[root@X64 ~]# pakfire update
server-list.db       100.00% |=============================>|    1.35 KB
packages_list.db     100.00% |=============================>|    3.35 KB
[root@X64 ~]# pakfire upgrade
CORE ERROR: No new upgrades available. You are on release 108.
Any sugestions?

Thank you,
H&M

Alorotom
Posts: 429
Joined: March 30th, 2015, 6:56 am

Re: Update 109 process

Post by Alorotom » February 18th, 2017, 6:05 pm

Hey there,
when I take a look into Pakfire, I can see this:
IPFire_Update_107_to_109.JPG
No further suggestion at this moment.
A.
Image
Image

User avatar
H&M
Posts: 471
Joined: May 29th, 2014, 9:38 pm
Location: Europe

Re: Update 109 process

Post by H&M » February 23rd, 2017, 8:25 pm

Hi,
Today everything worked fine, on the same machine.
Strange...

User avatar
twilson
Posts: 457
Joined: October 31st, 2014, 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Update 109 process

Post by twilson » February 28th, 2017, 10:35 am

Hello H&M,

sometimes the IPFire mirrors need a day or so until they have synched their files with the main download site. If it does not work, just try it a few hours or a day later.

The list of mirrors, by the way, is available here: http://mirrors.ipfire.org/

Best regards,
Timmothy Wilson

XerXes
Posts: 157
Joined: February 19th, 2011, 3:11 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Update 109 process

Post by XerXes » March 2nd, 2017, 3:01 am

as far as I know, the update will be like 105 to 106, then 106-107, 107-108, 108-109;
but Ipfire downloads all pakes at once and install one after another and before it suggest the reboot.

so even in between the DNS may not work for your Ipfire, it will install the next update without the need of an internet conection.

can someone confirm?

Alorotom
Posts: 429
Joined: March 30th, 2015, 6:56 am

Re: Update 109 process

Post by Alorotom » March 2nd, 2017, 9:41 am

Upgrade from 107 to 109 showed for a very short moment something with 108 while the lines where scrolling through. Almost too fast for a download. Installation was also fast and with no reboot and as far as I could see with no reconnect. Or only a very short disconnect / reconnect. To fast to see in the WUI. But it is Core 109 now, as you can see in the signature.
Regards,
Alorotom
Image
Image

Post Reply