Quick Question from Newbie - SOLVED

General questions.
r0b0ty

Quick Question from Newbie - SOLVED

Post by r0b0ty » July 1st, 2018, 1:16 pm

Hello all,

I'm new to IPFire and firewalls in general. Currently, I have IPFire working, but only in the following configuration: Cable Modem -> Router -> PC (hosting IPFire). If, however, I attempt to connect the cable modem directly to the host PC ("red" interface), it does not work (no internet connectivity). This is even after running setup again, and retaining the "DHCP" setting. I did notice that when it does not work, the "Default Gateway:" and "DNS Server:" addresses are missing during the booting up of IPFire (displayed just before the login prompt).

I thought that IPFire would negotiate these addresses (with my ISP), since I selected "DHCP", as opposed to "Static". It apparently only does it for the "IP Address:" and "Subnet Mask:". I feel like I am misunderstanding a fundamental concept here... but basically, my setup only works with my physcial router in the loop - which seems redundant.

Can anyone help? Thanks!
Last edited by r0b0ty on July 4th, 2018, 1:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Roberto Peña

Re: Quick Question from Newbie

Post by Roberto Peña » July 1st, 2018, 7:49 pm

Hi r0b0ty

You have to configure the RED interface in PPPoE configuring from the GUI the dialing that the IPFire must make with the data provided by your ISP. (try searching the Google the dialing data of your ISP).

https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/s ... l?s[]=dial

Try it and say Us.

Regards.

╔════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
Donate to improve IPFire: https://www.ipfire.org/donate
╚════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

silverknight

Post by silverknight » July 2nd, 2018, 1:27 am