Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

General questions.
ceehota1a
Posts: 52
Joined: March 14th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by ceehota1a » April 11th, 2019, 2:36 am

Issue with setting Static IP address under DHCP. Anytime I attempt to assign a Fixed IP to a mac address under the DHCP options so that the DHCP server gives the same device the same ip address everytime it renews, It does not add it and actually deletes the first previous entry in the list by highlighting it yellow and when you refresh the page the first added device in the list has been deleted. Has anyone else had this issue. Just started after upgrading to core 129.

Thanks
Ceehota1a

Edwin009
Posts: 6
Joined: March 13th, 2016, 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by Edwin009 » April 12th, 2019, 3:32 pm

did you try reinstalling the winsock, That should take care of the issue

In extreme case scenario you can uninstall and resinstall the network adapter and that will solve the issue.
Regards,
Edwin S |Tech Support Team
Enterprise E5 Expert

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 12th, 2019, 5:32 pm

Hi,

Confirmed - please open a bug report.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Add and activate a test entry for a fixed lease, e.g. MACID 01:02:03:04:05:06, IP-Address 192.168.100.34.
2. Click add.
3. New entry appears at top of the existing list.
4. After changing screens - or refreshing the page - entry is gone and the unchanged (old) list is still there.

Best,
Matthias

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 8:37 am

Hi,

New Bug added: https://bugzilla.ipfire.org/show_bug.cgi?id=12050

Best,
Matthias

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 8:40 am

Workaround: use /srv/web/ipfire/cgi-bin/dhcp.cgi from Core 128.

Best,
Matthias

BeBiMa
Posts: 2842
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by BeBiMa » April 13th, 2019, 12:05 pm

Submitted a patch for the bug.

Edit: I've appended the modified file for a quick test. (dhcp.cgi.org is the original of version 129)

Edit2: Removed the "patch". Was a quick and dirty workaround, which didn't solve the problem really. Sorry.
Added a new file, which will be send as patch to the devel list. Please test and report.
-------
dhcp_cgi.tgz
dhcp.cgi only. Please save the original file.
(11.42 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
Last edited by BeBiMa on May 24th, 2019, 10:43 am, edited 4 times in total.
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 6:09 pm

Hi,

thanks for the patch - I couldn't have done this.

But the archive contains 'dhcp.cgi.org' and 'ddns.cgi'.

Rather difficult to test... ;)

Best,
Matthias

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 6:20 pm

Hi,

I applied the patch from here - looks good, seems to work...

Thanks!

Best,
Matthias

EDIT: Sorry, the patch does NOT work! The first entry in the existing list was deleted. And that was me...

BeBiMa
Posts: 2842
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by BeBiMa » April 13th, 2019, 8:51 pm

Sorry, I was to fast in creating the .tgz file. :(

I just updated the appendix of my post above.

@FischerM: where exactly is the problem with my patch?
Maybe I mixed something up, using an intermediate version of dhcp.cgi as original.
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 9:59 pm

Hi,

I used your bugzilla patch and at first this seemed to work.

But I found that after adding a new fixed lease, the first entry in the existing had been deleted (I only looked at the end of the list, so I didn't notice. Duh!).

Best,
Matthias

BeBiMa
Posts: 2842
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by BeBiMa » April 13th, 2019, 10:17 pm

Okay,
just checked it.
The last added entry seems to diappear. I should investigate this. :(

Best,
Bernhard

EDIT: error found. Blind copy and paste :'(
Attachment is updated.
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 13th, 2019, 11:37 pm

Thanks!

First test: works!

Best,
Matthias

ceehota1a
Posts: 52
Joined: March 14th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by ceehota1a » April 14th, 2019, 3:34 pm

Thanks for the quick responses to this thread, So does the Patch actually work now ?

Thanks
Carlos

User avatar
FischerM
Community Developer
Community Developer
Posts: 1025
Joined: November 2nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by FischerM » April 14th, 2019, 3:42 pm

For me: yes.

Don't know whoelse tested this... ;)

Best,
Matthias

BeBiMa
Posts: 2842
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: Fixed IP assignment under DHCP

Post by BeBiMa » April 14th, 2019, 3:43 pm

Matthias has tested it ( see above). Don't know whether he used the patch from bugzilla/DevList or the my attached .zip file.

We both found it working without problems. I think you haven't applied the intermediate faulty file. Then you shouldn't have lost fixed leases entries. Just check this.

Regards,
Bernhard
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

Post Reply