IpFire firewall configuration rules

General questions.
Post Reply
alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 8:56 am

Screenshot (1).png
Hi everyone! I am trying to configure some ipfire firewall rules from the web interface but when i access the proper page for configuration I do not get the complete configuration page, and in particular I do not have the option to add the rule
I attach a screen of the page that I have!
Hope that anyone can help me!
Thanks a lot

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 8522
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by Arne.F » April 11th, 2019, 11:34 am

There is a bug on the page. If the system is online (internet) and has already downloaded and converted the Maxmind database the page works but it hangs without this data.
Arne

Support the project on the donation!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 11:55 am

So actually I must wait for the provider to correct the bug or can i do something myself?
Thanks a lot
Alessia

OdonGarma
Posts: 39
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 7:07 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by OdonGarma » April 11th, 2019, 1:58 pm

put the box online once to download the DB. after this you can configure the firewall rules.

Greetz
Hardware: APU.3C4 (4.10.0.0), AMD GX-412TC SOC x4, 4GB-RAM, 32GB mSata SSD, 3x Intel I211 NIC
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B VPN: IPSec (n2n), OpenVPN (Roadwarrior)

alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 2:01 pm

Also I have That the list of pakfire for addons is completely empty and even if I type pakfire list from the command line i get "packages total."
What is it not working! Please help me in understannig this.
Thanks a lot

alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 2:03 pm

What do you mean with put the box online? I have already connected the virtual machine that host ipfire to a physical network interface for the red network and it is online!

OdonGarma
Posts: 39
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 7:07 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by OdonGarma » April 11th, 2019, 2:05 pm

as arne said the box need to download the maxmind to DB to be able to build the firewall rules.

make sure the box is online, maybe ping to 1.1.1.1??

after a few moments the DB should be downloaded un so the system should be ready.

i don't know how to force the box to download the DB. But if the box can go online, just reboot the whole system, which always seems to ensure to download the database files....

Greetz
Hardware: APU.3C4 (4.10.0.0), AMD GX-412TC SOC x4, 4GB-RAM, 32GB mSata SSD, 3x Intel I211 NIC
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B VPN: IPSec (n2n), OpenVPN (Roadwarrior)

alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 2:09 pm

And how can I put it online? As I have already connected the red network to the internet, must i connect the green one too?

OdonGarma
Posts: 39
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 7:07 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by OdonGarma » April 11th, 2019, 2:12 pm

no sure about this.

if you can ping from the shell of the ipfire box to hosts on the internet, then everything should be fine.

maybe something is blocking the request from the box??

please confirm, that you can ping (internet) hosts from your box' shell

Greetz
Hardware: APU.3C4 (4.10.0.0), AMD GX-412TC SOC x4, 4GB-RAM, 32GB mSata SSD, 3x Intel I211 NIC
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B VPN: IPSec (n2n), OpenVPN (Roadwarrior)

alexysvai22
Posts: 8
Joined: April 11th, 2019, 8:43 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by alexysvai22 » April 11th, 2019, 2:19 pm

No! From the box shell i cannot ping 1.1.1.1!

OdonGarma
Posts: 39
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 7:07 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by OdonGarma » April 11th, 2019, 2:24 pm

then you should check why you do not have connectivity.

Greetz
Hardware: APU.3C4 (4.10.0.0), AMD GX-412TC SOC x4, 4GB-RAM, 32GB mSata SSD, 3x Intel I211 NIC
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B VPN: IPSec (n2n), OpenVPN (Roadwarrior)

GeoKen
Posts: 8
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by GeoKen » May 9th, 2019, 10:15 am

I'm having the same issue. Can't ping because there is no rule to allow ICMP. Can't add the rule because of the bug......
So, is there some other way to get the DB to load?
Thanks

OdonGarma
Posts: 39
Joined: May 21st, 2015, 7:07 am

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by OdonGarma » May 9th, 2019, 10:27 am

Strange!

A standard out-of-the box IPfire installation can always ping from the shell.
Maybe the is a problem with the red connectivity?

Greetz
Hardware: APU.3C4 (4.10.0.0), AMD GX-412TC SOC x4, 4GB-RAM, 32GB mSata SSD, 3x Intel I211 NIC
Modem: ZyXEL VMG1312-B VPN: IPSec (n2n), OpenVPN (Roadwarrior)

GeoKen
Posts: 8
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by GeoKen » May 9th, 2019, 10:30 am

Update... The bug has been fixed in release 2.23 Core 131. That release is still in testing.

GeoKen
Posts: 8
Joined: May 8th, 2019, 12:03 pm

Re: IpFire firewall configuration rules

Post by GeoKen » May 9th, 2019, 11:01 am

Thanks. I can ping 8.8.8.8 (google) from Shell but the page still has the same issue. Also no geoip-block.cgi. How can I force the Maxmind DB to download?

Post Reply