DNS ?

General questions.
Post Reply
gh4wi
Posts: 15
Joined: March 29th, 2018, 3:20 pm

DNS ?

Post by gh4wi » June 5th, 2019, 2:56 pm

Yesterday, my cable provider had a problem /w DNS not working.
When I booted a PC /w IPFire, it configured normally.
The ifconfig command showed normal info.
When I booted any PC on the green interface, the DNS was non-responsive.
I am wondering if there is test/check/command that I can use on the IPFire PC,
when it is first booted, to verify that the cable providers DNS is working ok ?
All I can think of is "nslookup ipfire.org"

User avatar
Roberto Peña
Posts: 761
Joined: July 16th, 2014, 3:56 pm
Location: Bilbao (España)
Contact:

Re: DNS ?

Post by Roberto Peña » June 5th, 2019, 3:47 pm

Hi gh4wi.

Let's see if I explain. First, what DNSs do you have? Who is your provider?

Well, I'll tell you.

When during the installation of the IPFire, there is a screen that defines the gateway and the DNSs. These are so that the IPFire can surf the Internet. You can also use the PCs, for this, when you define the DHCP of the IPFire, in DNS you can either put the ones you want or the IP Green of the IPFire. The PCs will use the ones you put in the Setup. If you put others in DHCP, the PCs will use the ones you have defined in DHCP and not the ones in the Setup, which, as I said, are for IPFire to be able to surf the internet.

A little mess, right?

Well, up to here everything is correct. If the DNSs you have put with valid, say, those of Google, for example, you should not have problems unless ...

Your provider has the DNSs as secure DNSs. For example, Vodafone.

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=22390

Try this and tell us.

Greetings.
Image
Image

╔════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
Donate to improve IPFire: https://www.ipfire.org/donate
╚════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

gh4wi
Posts: 15
Joined: March 29th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: DNS ?

Post by gh4wi » June 6th, 2019, 2:30 pm

Thanks for the info about DNS in IPFire's Setup.
On the last full install, I used the default values, thus allowing DHCP to setup DNS.
So my /etc/resolv.conf contains
nameserver 127.0.0.1

I then tried using the IPFire WUI Network/DNS-Setup to define DNS1 and DNS2 as
8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4, then Saved same & rebooted the IPFire PC.

After the reboot, the /etc/resolv.conf file was unchanged.
I had expected to see an entry for the DNS1 and DNS2 ?

The WUI shows the new numbers, but the /etc/resolv.conf file does not ?

Must I do a new Full install ?
What's in your /etc/resolv.conf file ?

User avatar
Roberto Peña
Posts: 761
Joined: July 16th, 2014, 3:56 pm
Location: Bilbao (España)
Contact:

Re: DNS ?

Post by Roberto Peña » June 6th, 2019, 4:00 pm

Hi gh4wi.

No need to do a new installation again. If you access via SSH or connect a monitor and keyboard to the command line of Linux, you can execute the command "setup" and thus, change the values of start of installation.

Have a look at the following link, you may find it interesting:

https://wiki.ipfire.org/installation/step5

Above all, in the section "DNS and Gateway Installation". Here you can put any DNS, for example, those of Google.

Then, you can look at the following link which explains the DHCP server:

https://wiki.ipfire.org/configuration/network/dhcp

In the DHCP Server, in "Primary DNS" you put the IP of the GREEN Interface of the IPFire, the computers will have the IP address of the IPFire as DNS, but IPFire will use the ones defined in the "SETUP" before (the ones you have defined in DNS and Gateway Installation) to resolve the names.

Google uses DNSSEC and you can check if they work correctly in "Status -> Network (External)" in the "DNSSEC Information" section.

You have checked that your internet provider allows you to use any DNS. Some do not Keep that in mind.

Regards.
Image
Image

╔════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
Donate to improve IPFire: https://www.ipfire.org/donate
╚════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

gh4wi
Posts: 15
Joined: March 29th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: DNS ?

Post by gh4wi » June 7th, 2019, 12:33 pm

Used the PC root console to run IPFire "setup" and added the DNS1 and DNS2 entries to same values as in the WUI.
Rebooted the IPFire PC and checked the /etc/resolv.conf file.
Still no changes there, only the nameserver 127.0.0.1 entry.

Does your /etc/resolv.conf file contain entries other than the above entry ?
I was expecting to see nameserver 8.8.8.8
and nameserver 8.8.4.4 entries.

Re-ran the setup program and it remembered the above values.
But looks like it does not update /etc/resov.conf ?

User avatar
Roberto Peña
Posts: 761
Joined: July 16th, 2014, 3:56 pm
Location: Bilbao (España)
Contact:

Re: DNS ?

Post by Roberto Peña » June 7th, 2019, 6:54 pm

It appears to me the same as you. Therefore, I imagine it will be fine.

Greetings.
Image
Image

╔════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
Donate to improve IPFire: https://www.ipfire.org/donate
╚════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

TimF
Posts: 83
Joined: June 10th, 2017, 7:27 pm

Re: DNS ?

Post by TimF » June 7th, 2019, 7:43 pm

IPFire often doesn't use the files in /etc; try under /var/ipfire. In this case /var/ipfire/ethernet/settings, but also /etc/ppp/resolv.conf . I'm not sure which file is used when.

gh4wi
Posts: 15
Joined: March 29th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Re: DNS ?

Post by gh4wi » June 8th, 2019, 10:43 pm

Thanks for the info !!!
Looks like /var/ipfire/ethernet/settings is the winner .

Post Reply