Add a new rule to open a port

General questions.
rpc972

Add a new rule to open a port

Post by rpc972 » October 13th, 2019, 5:51 am

Hi,
Im new to firewall and try to open port 51070 for using Transmission app.

this is my rule detail :

After adding the rule, the port stay blocked
What's wrong ?
Thanks for help.
Philippe
Attachments
Capture du 2019-10-13 07-44-37.png

gpatel-fr

Re: Add a new rule to open a port

Post by gpatel-fr » October 13th, 2019, 8:35 am

Hello

for my rules I do the opposite of what you do: I specify the input network (RED) and don't for the destination network (what's the point ? you specifiy a destination IP address). Besides that, it's a bit odd to set an destination address that is not in the destination network.

cfusco

Post by cfusco » October 13th, 2019, 9:33 am

rpc972 wrote:
October 13th, 2019, 5:51 am
Hi,
Im new to firewall and try to open port 51070 for using Transmission app.

this is my rule detail :

After adding the rule, the port stay blocked
What's wrong ?
Thanks for help.
Philippe
You need to put the port in the other field "External port (nat)". Also, the source should be "standard networks RED", as the logic is that any incoming TCP packet (from the RED) with the destination port 51070 has to be rewritten to go to the specific internal ip you have the service running on. Packets coming from the internal network do not need to be rewritten, obviously. So do not include them in the rule.

Edit: one more thing, make sure that after creating the rule you do select the most rightward checkbox (to activate it) and apply it, as once you activate it by clicking in the checkbox there will be a button to click in the page listing all the rules. Otherwise even if the rule is there it will not be used until you apply it.
Last edited by cfusco on October 13th, 2019, 10:14 am, edited 4 times in total.

Alorotom

Post by Alorotom » October 13th, 2019, 9:43 am

Hey,