automated backup solution

General questions.
axel2078

automated backup solution

Post by axel2078 » January 30th, 2013, 4:06 am

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to IPFire. I was using Smoothwall as my firewall until just a couple days ago when I switched over to IPFire. I like it so far. I do have a question though. Is there an automated solution available for backups? I had this set up in Smoothwall, but I'm not really sure how to do it with IPFire. Thanks.

axel2078

Re: automated backup solution

Post by axel2078 » February 2nd, 2013, 1:28 am

Ok, how about this....which script enables you to do a backup from the Backup tab on the system page? I'd like to automate this if possible.

smallhagrid

Solution=>Re: backup

Post by smallhagrid » February 4th, 2013, 8:39 pm

IPFire's backup is manual - and incomplete - not a good solution.

For best coverage in case of catastrophic failure I've used & tested Redo Backup with 100% success.
This is not automated, but at least it works 100% with all the plugins, settings, etc.

Given that an IPFire configuration will usually be seldom changed and used always, it seems to me that only backing it up fully after making a change would matter...?

I've posted about this subject here as well, after finding how disappointing the built-in backup function was - and I asked almost the same question as the OP in this thread.
( http://forum.ipfire.org/index.php/topic,6917.msg46555.html#msg46555 )

Should anyone find a better - easier - quicker - more automated way to do this, PLEASE share it with the rest of us ?!?

Best Wishes.

mark
Last edited by smallhagrid on February 4th, 2013, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

andremorro
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by andremorro » February 5th, 2013, 3:59 pm

I´m pretty sure this could be done by Cron with a little amout of investigation of IPFire backup job.

Maybe adding some features to your own script would be enough.
I´ll try to make one since I need a backup...