Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post Reply
andyp
Posts: 14
Joined: August 12th, 2016, 7:51 am

Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by andyp » August 1st, 2018, 3:25 pm

Hello,

I have upgraded from revision 120 to 122 (i586 on a SATA hard drive) and on rebooting I get dumped at a grub> prompt and the system doesn't boot.

How do I fix it?

-Andy.

andyp
Posts: 14
Joined: August 12th, 2016, 7:51 am

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by andyp » August 1st, 2018, 6:04 pm

Looking more closely, the partition that is normally mounted as /boot didn't have the Linux kernel or ramdisk images.

I have installed the same IPFire version into VirtualBox so I could pull the files out and put them back on the hard disk.

Back at the grub> prompt I can manually boot the kernel but I get lots of warnings about iptables and it doesn't think I have any network interfaces!

-Andy.

Porkyle
Posts: 10
Joined: April 22nd, 2016, 6:30 am

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by Porkyle » August 1st, 2018, 7:36 pm

Same thing happened to me. My ipfire is installed on 16GB SD card with flash install image. Since I had backups and pakfire did new backups when i updated it was easier to me make fresh install than try to figure out what to do.

I mounted SD card to another computer and copied newest backup files from /var/ipfire/backup/ folder to somewhere safe and then used disk tools restore image option to install new flash image to SD card.
Image

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by Veti » August 2nd, 2018, 5:47 am

you prob did the same as me.
instead of leaving the machine running you clicked update to 122 when it came up. that seems to break the update

Psychodad
Posts: 28
Joined: January 2nd, 2015, 6:44 pm

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by Psychodad » August 2nd, 2018, 8:55 am

Ahhh, sorry guys, now i see this thread is about core 122, my problem is about core 121.
forget all i wrote.
Best Regards,
Psychodad

Image

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 8522
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by Arne.F » August 2nd, 2018, 9:17 am

core121/122 is the same. It is splittet into two parts because its size. If you have startet core121 wait util pakfire has really finished
(check in IPFire Log section) and not reboot or start updates on the pakfire page again...
Arne

Support the project on the donation!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

andyp
Posts: 14
Joined: August 12th, 2016, 7:51 am

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by andyp » August 2nd, 2018, 2:26 pm

Not sure what happened with the old system but as far as I could tell all of the update had completed before I rebooted.

I stuck a new disk into my machine and reinstalled core 122 from the ISO and then reconfigured everything so all is well again!

-Andy.

User avatar
trymes
Posts: 664
Joined: February 9th, 2011, 4:10 pm
Location: New England, USA

Re: Upgrade to 122 leaves me at a grub prompt

Post by trymes » December 11th, 2018, 11:35 pm

What did you do to manually boot the kernel?

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out, with help from this page: https://www.linux.com/learn/how-rescue- ... inux%20%20

Basically, I used these commands, I don't know if installations on other hardware will vary:

Code: Select all

grub> set root=(hd0,1)
grub> linux /vmlinuz-4.14.72-ipfire root=/dev/sda3
grub> initrd /initramfs-4.14.72-ipfire.img
grub> boot

Post Reply