IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Hello,

I am trying to make my IPFire setup work with my broadband provider (TalkTalk in UK). When I was using the Netgear DM200 in a "modem / router" configuration and the IPFire machine configured with a static IP on the RED interface everything worked fine. However, due to various reasons, I want to use the Netgear DM200 configured as a "modem only" and the IPFire machine used as a router. The Netgear modem was working fine when paired with my old Meraki MX64 Security Appliance.

The network diagram:
Image

And the settings I configured in IPFire:
Image

Image

In the "System" -> "Dialup" menu:

Image
Image

Although the "Main Page" shows that I am connected (see below), I have no internet connectivity, and I cannot even ping the TalkTalk's gateway.

Image

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Valentin

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Veti » November 24th, 2018, 1:07 pm

can you post the pppd info from /var/log/messages

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Veti » November 24th, 2018, 1:09 pm

also there might be a firmware problem see
https://community.netgear.com/t5/DSL-Mo ... -p/1617578

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 1:36 pm

Veti wrote:
November 24th, 2018, 1:07 pm
can you post the pppd info from /var/log/messages
Thanks for looking into this, Veti.

As the log is huge I am attaching the output rather then pasting it in the message.

Regards,

Valentin
pppd_log.txt
(65.91 KiB) Downloaded 94 times

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Veti wrote:
November 24th, 2018, 1:09 pm
also there might be a firmware problem see
https://community.netgear.com/t5/DSL-Mo ... -p/1617578
I did upgrade the firmware on the Netgear just before trying to use it as a modem with IPFire. I will check if it still works with the Meraki security appliance.

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 2:06 pm

I've just tested the Netgear DM200 in "Modem Only" mode with the Meraki MX64 Security Appliance and I have internet connectivity so the modem works fine.

Here are the settings, also showing the firmware release:

Image

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 2:34 pm

I'm not sure if it helps but here is the configuration for the MX appliance:
Image

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Veti » November 24th, 2018, 2:38 pm

Code: Select all

Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: local  IP address 92.4.12.88
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: remote IP address 79.67.96.1
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: primary   DNS address 79.79.79.79
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: secondary DNS address 79.79.79.80
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: Script /etc/ppp/ip-up started (pid 15104)
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: rcvd [IPCP TermReq id=0xb9]
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: IPCP terminated by peer
Nov 24 12:45:22 ipfire pppd[15048]: Connect time 0.0 minutes.
Your log is full of this.
I have no idea what reason b9 is but your connection gets terminated straight after connect, because its requested by your isp.

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Veti » November 24th, 2018, 2:58 pm

are you sure that you require pppoe?

see
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/talktalk-uk ... tings/8925

Veti
Posts: 369
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Veti » November 24th, 2018, 4:21 pm

not sure tough if you can configure vlan and dhcp in ipfire

parityerror
Posts: 5
Joined: September 29th, 2018, 8:25 pm

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by parityerror » November 24th, 2018, 8:46 pm

Hi Valentin,

I use the same configuration as you except with a Draytek Vigor 130 modem.

I wonder if your problem is with the VLAN Tag?

You can use the modem to handle tagging or IPFire, but not both.

So either configure the modem VLAN tag to 101 and IPFire to 0 or

the modem to 0 and IPFire to 101

I hope this helps.

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 10:51 pm

Veti wrote:
November 24th, 2018, 2:58 pm
are you sure that you require pppoe?

see
https://forum.openwrt.org/t/talktalk-uk ... tings/8925
I am not using PPPoE. TalkTalk's uses IPoE with DHCP (and automatic login) for their VDSL2 service. This means there is no need to enter authentication credentials (username and password) but I had to fill them in as the IPFire WUI doesn't allow me to save the settings if I don't fill in the username (at least).

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 11:00 pm

Veti wrote:
November 24th, 2018, 4:21 pm
not sure tough if you can configure vlan and dhcp in ipfire
I can configure VLAN in IPFire (the 101 in the "IPTV/VLAN" section). I cannot configure DHCP on the red0.101 interface but I don't need to anyway.

Valentin
Posts: 10
Joined: November 24th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by Valentin » November 24th, 2018, 11:14 pm

parityerror wrote:
November 24th, 2018, 8:46 pm
Hi Valentin,

I use the same configuration as you except with a Draytek Vigor 130 modem.

I wonder if your problem is with the VLAN Tag?

You can use the modem to handle tagging or IPFire, but not both.

So either configure the modem VLAN tag to 101 and IPFire to 0 or

the modem to 0 and IPFire to 101

I hope this helps.
Hi,

When using the Netgear DM200 in "modem only" (also called "bridge") mode, many options become grayed out, including VLAN tagging. The only important thing is to have "Passthrough VLAN" checkbox ticked so the modem can pass the VLAN tag from the ISP to the router, in our case to IPFire.

Here is a screenshot showing these settings in the DM200 when this is used in "modem + router" mode (so not in "bridge" mode).

Image
Image

parityerror
Posts: 5
Joined: September 29th, 2018, 8:25 pm

Re: IPFire as router behind VDSL modem

Post by parityerror » November 25th, 2018, 12:44 am

Hi,
My setup here in NZ - I believe very similar to what you use in UK

Modem ...
VDSL with 1483 Bridged IP (IPoE) enabled
VDSL Tag value of 10 (maybe you try 01 here?)
Priority 0

IPFire ...
dialup setting is PPPoE
no VLAN tag available here as the modem handles this
IPFire handles all authentication so Username and Password is entered here

Post Reply