mDns repeater ?

Questions to IPFire Addons.
Post Reply
philmo_one
Posts: 2
Joined: January 22nd, 2018, 9:30 am

mDns repeater ?

Post by philmo_one » January 22nd, 2018, 10:56 am

Hello,
I'm trying to use some chromecasts in blue from comupters in green, and am not able to print on my hp officejet printer in green from computers in blue.
It seems the mDns-repeater daemon, could be a solution.

According to the documentation : https://wiki.ipfire.org/addons/mdns-repeater/start, I'll have to get the binary from the forum (as I don't think I have the skills to create the pakfire package by myself).

Using a binary version from an "unknown forum user" seems illogical from a security point of view, especially since the firewall is probably the most sensitive element of a network.
Wouldn't it be possible for our friendly ipfire maintainers to make this package available through the official pakfire system ? :)

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 7606
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by Arne.F » January 25th, 2018, 2:52 pm

Michael has already added it to the next branch but it has not reached the master branch yet so it is not available in pakfire. It will added with core118.

https://git.ipfire.org/?p=ipfire-2.x.gi ... be8be62a99

You can only try to use nightly testbuilds for next tree yet:

https://nightly.ipfire.org/
Arne

Support the project on the IPFire whishlist!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

philmo_one
Posts: 2
Joined: January 22nd, 2018, 9:30 am

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by philmo_one » January 25th, 2018, 11:13 pm

Good news !
Thank you very much ! 8)

User avatar
Deepcuts
Posts: 335
Joined: March 1st, 2016, 3:18 pm
Location: Romania

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by Deepcuts » February 15th, 2018, 11:20 am

Thank you for releasing via pacfire.
The configuration from https://wiki.ipfire.org/addons/mdns-repeater/start is still valid?
Image
Image

User avatar
MichaelTremer
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 5545
Joined: August 11th, 2005, 9:02 am

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by MichaelTremer » February 15th, 2018, 12:24 pm

Deepcuts wrote:
February 15th, 2018, 11:20 am
Thank you for releasing via pacfire.
The configuration from https://wiki.ipfire.org/addons/mdns-repeater/start is still valid?
No, please feel free to update it.

Veti
Posts: 335
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by Veti » February 16th, 2018, 2:50 pm

small bug. because the file /etc/init.d/mdns-repeater has a "-" in its name its not picked up as a service by the services.cgi page.

BeBiMa
Posts: 2510
Joined: July 30th, 2011, 12:55 pm
Location: Mannheim

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by BeBiMa » February 16th, 2018, 4:03 pm

changing line 178 to

Code: Select all

    my @pak = `find /opt/pakfire/db/installed/meta-* 2>/dev/null | cut -d"-" -f2-`;
does the job. ;)
Image
Unitymedia Cable Internet ( 32MBit )

MichaelR
Posts: 1
Joined: March 11th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by MichaelR » February 18th, 2018, 10:11 am

Hello everybody,

after I installed the mdns-repeater in the new version (everything works fine) but makes me a message in the FW-protocol startling:
FW.png
The address 192.168.1.1 is the WLAN adapter (default gateway on blue0)

Does somebody has any idea?

All other BLUE0 addresses are properly resolved through the MDNS.

Best regards
Michael

Veti
Posts: 335
Joined: November 22nd, 2009, 9:26 am

Re: mDns repeater ?

Post by Veti » February 19th, 2018, 6:58 am

have you added the firewall rules in the wiki link from above?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests