Bandwidth limit for specific domain

General questions.
Post Reply
MsVibe
Posts: 11
Joined: July 30th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Bandwidth limit for specific domain

Post by MsVibe » August 15th, 2019, 8:13 pm

I would like to set a bandwidth limit using QoS for ssl traffic from a specific domain (TV streaming site).

Is that possible, and how?


b.r.
Vibe

User avatar
Arne.F
Core Developer
Core Developer
Posts: 8518
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 8:57 am
Location: BS <-> NDH
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth limit for specific domain

Post by Arne.F » August 16th, 2019, 4:47 am

You cannot limit a Domain because the firewall only knows IP Addresses.

Also the most streaming sites not host the streams. They came from many different servers. Often from the large Content Delivery Networks like Akamai or Amazon.
Arne

Support the project on the donation!

Image

Image

Image
PS: I will not answer support questions via email and ignore IPFire related messages on my non IPFire.org mail addresses.

MsVibe
Posts: 11
Joined: July 30th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Re: Bandwidth limit for specific domain

Post by MsVibe » August 16th, 2019, 9:08 pm

Thank you for your information. Yes, the sites use Akamai.net

Is it possible instead to apply QoS based on the IP of the streaming devices. Let's say a chromecast with ip x.x.x.x how is that done?

Best regards
Vibe

ipfireuser5150
Posts: 32
Joined: May 18th, 2019, 5:28 pm

Re: Bandwidth limit for specific domain

Post by ipfireuser5150 » August 18th, 2019, 10:38 am

MsVibe wrote:
August 16th, 2019, 9:08 pm
Thank you for your information. Yes, the sites use Akamai.net

Is it possible instead to apply QoS based on the IP of the streaming devices. Let's say a chromecast with ip x.x.x.x how is that done?

Best regards
Vibe
If you can isolate the traffic to either a port or a L7 protocol, then you could use QoS. But I don't think you'll be able. If it's any consolation, even with no other activity on my Network, my Roku doesn't seem to use more than 5 Mbps on a 100 Mbps connection. Limiting its bandwidth is not a concern at all (for me).

MsVibe
Posts: 11
Joined: July 30th, 2019, 7:10 pm

Re: Bandwidth limit for specific domain

Post by MsVibe » August 18th, 2019, 7:48 pm

Thank you for your reply. My connection is fast enough too, however unfortunately I am currently allowed only 100 GB traffic a month.


B.r.
Vibe

Post Reply